Reviews for Bashay Rift Lodge
ATR Feedback Index
5 51
4 35
3 7
2 2
1 4
The ATR Feedback Index combines all available feedback sources to provide a useful snapshot view.

Please note that this index is only suitable for use by ATR guests since the results are factored for relevance. For example, a city business hotel may service its clientele very well, but its rating here may be factored down since it is not the kind of place our guests usually want to include in their safaris.


Tripadvisor Reviews
Tripadvisor is a leading worldwide travel review site and a useful source of feedback in Africa, especially for lodges that we include less frequently in trips and therefore have fewer reviews on this site. View their reviews for Bashay Rift Lodge


ATR Reviews
5 6
4 12
3 3
2 0
1 0
The ATR reviews below have been posted on this site, largely by guests who have travelled with us, and therefore tend to be the most relevant to our future guests ...

Click on graph to filter reviews by rating.
Add review
Review 1 of 21
Reviewerlisa dibb
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia/New Zealand
Visit date29 Jun 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date15 Jul 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Lovely
Very comfortable!
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 2 of 21
Reviewermichelle nashaty
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia/New Zealand
Visit date27 Jun 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date16 Jul 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Beautiful place to stay
The only disappointment is that we arrived late and couldn't enjoy the beautiful pool and spectacular view as we only stayed one night. Staff met us on arrival with cold towels and drinks. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The dining was lovely with excellent food and service. I really can't fault the place. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 3 of 21
Reviewerpeter florence
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromUK
Visit date12 Mar 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date26 Apr 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Very comfortable lodge with great views...
A very clean and comofrtable lodge with each room having great views ... large rooms with nice bathroom and balcony... the main reception/ restuarant areas are very relaxing and comortable. The food was good too... and a pool... Great place to stay to relax for a day before or after trip to Ngorongoro crater and Serengeti
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 4 of 21
Reviewerliz atkinson
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia/New Zealand
Visit date4 Jan 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date28 Jan 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Bayshay
As we drove up the drive of Bayshay we were met royally by about 6 staff and an ever enjoyable cold towel and ice tea. As we were 2 adult and 2 children our accommodation was a cottage with two large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and living room with a divine deck overlooking the plains below. Perfect. Bayshay, sits in green lawns perched on a ridge overlooking plains and offers an entrancing environment. The pool was also very well received. - pity we didn't have a champagne in hand. Dining staff a little stiff but efficient and service formal. Would recommend.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 5 of 21
Reviewersuzette stitely
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date1 Oct 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date28 Oct 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Beautiful surprise
We stayed one night between Taranguire and Ngorongoro Crater. It is a beautiful property. We were the only guests that night, which made it a bit weird. We arrived early afternoon and it was great to relax. The pool is really nice - we enjoyed lounging beside it. I'm an avid birder and there were plenty of birds to keep me busy. There were large spiders in the dining room and a scorpion in our room, so be on the look-out. Not unexpected for the area though.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 6 of 21
Reviewerbarbara klein
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date1 Oct 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date16 Oct 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Beautiful property but....
We were looking forward to a night in a lodge after spending almost 2 weeks in various wonderful tent camps long showers and hairdryers sounded pretty good to us. As we arrived at the lodge following a long day in the crater, we were immediately impressed with the lovely gardens and beautiful buildings we were greeted warmly by Alan, the manager and his staff. Our room was very nice, no. 8, with pretty views of the valley. Unlike some other reviewers, we were not bothered by mosquitoes or other insects because the rooms did not have screens. Dinner was delicious and our packed lunches the next day were also excellent......lots of healthy choices to take on the road. That's all the good news......now for the not so good......we found the staff to be unfriendly and unattentive contrary to the staffs at all the prior camps where we stayed it was kind of a shock to see unsmiling faces and not be understood when asking questions etc. In all fairness, I'm not sure that the above can be attributed to a language barrier, but with many English speaking tourists coming to stay at Bashay, that needs to be addressed and improved. When Alan was around, he was accommodating, but the problem was he wasn't very visable during our visit. We were not a demanding group of 6 at all, so I don't believe our expectations were unrealistic. I'm afraid I can't recommend this property and would not return for another visit......too bad because it's really pretty and has a lot of potential. I hope the owners will pay attention to these remarks and take the necessary steps to improve the situation. We wish them good luck in the future. We can't comment on the pool as we didn't use it but it sounds as if other visitors loved it......
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 7 of 21
Reviewercharlie maas
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date18 Sep 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date2 Nov 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Bashay Rift is a really well run, beautiful lodge
We stayed at Bashay Rift on our last night in Africa, and it was a great place to end our stay. The grounds are beautiful, they are incredibly clean and modern, and very relaxing and comfortable. We didn't take advantage of any activities, but did enjoy our stay here and were able to rest easily in the comfotable environs.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 8 of 21
Reviewers b
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date5 Sep 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date25 Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
great safari break
we stayed at bashay for one night on the way from tarangire to the crater and Serengeti, and it was a wonderful break from the safari! we arrived mid-afternoon, initially thinking we would be active and walk around the grounds, but we found that the atmosphere was so relaxing we decided to just chill out by the bar and pool. the views are great from everywhere, gardens are beautifully manicured, and the food was delicious. the suite was very comfortable, the bathroom in the room was HUGE, as large as the bedroom itself, with the same stunning view out over the valley. i would echo the comments below about the staff being a little more reserved, but they were still very nice once we drew them out, and the service was great overall. wish we could've stayed longer!
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 9 of 21
ReviewerAfrican Safari
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromUSA
Visit date22 Aug 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date2 Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Bashay Rift
This is an exceptional lodge. Rooms are large and commodious with spectacular views. The grounds are impeccably manicured and the pool affords a relaxing break from being on the road. Delicious food, friendly staff, easy access to the Ngorongoro Crater. Arrival here makes you want to take an additional day as an interlude from time in the car.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 10 of 21
Reviewernadia mcdonald
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromUK
Visit date1 Aug 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date21 Aug 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Wonderful Place
We stayed at Bashay Rift Lodge on our way from Tarangire to Ngorongoro and the journey up to the lodge doesn't really give you a true indication of what waits beyond the gates.

The lodge has impressive views across the valley to the rim of the crater beyond and is a perfect place to unwind for a day. Our room was spacious and clean with plentiful hot running water, the food is good and the staff attentive if a little more reserved than other camps. The pool was a welcome distraction for our 2 boys and is a great place to sit and unwind.

This is a great place to visit to recharge the batteries and offers something different to the tented lodges
Other reviews by this traveller
1 of 3
Add review