Reviews for Bashay Rift Lodge
ATR Feedback Index
5 51
4 34
3 8
2 2
1 4
The ATR Feedback Index combines all available feedback sources to provide a useful snapshot view.

Please note that this index is only suitable for use by ATR guests since the results are factored for relevance. For example, a city business hotel may service its clientele very well, but its rating here may be factored down since it is not the kind of place our guests usually want to include in their safaris.


Tripadvisor Reviews
Tripadvisor is a leading worldwide travel review site and a useful source of feedback in Africa, especially for lodges that we include less frequently in trips and therefore have fewer reviews on this site. View their reviews for Bashay Rift Lodge


ATR Reviews
5 7
4 14
3 5
2 0
1 0
The ATR reviews below have been posted on this site, largely by guests who have travelled with us, and therefore tend to be the most relevant to our future guests ...

Click on graph to filter reviews by rating.
Add review
Review 1 of 26
ReviewerMelvyn
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia
Visit date23 Sep 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date12 Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
A pleasant enough place as a staging post for one night - great views and sunset, lovely pool and gardens
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 2 of 26
Reviewerdidier neuvecelle
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromEurope
Visit date13 Aug 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date8 Sep 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Top of the hill
The lodge is very clean and comfortable we had a room with great views and a very good bathroom. The main areas are very relaxing and the gardens are quite nice, filled with trees and flowers and birds. The food was better than in the camps. This a good place to stay to relax before the long trip back home.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 3 of 26
Reviewerkatherine blanchette
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date10 Aug 2014
Visit duration2 nights
Review Date13 Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
An odd sort of place
My experience of Bashay Rift Lodge was ... odd. The location is lovely, and the rooms are pretty, with a few off notes (slightly run down Ikea furniture in one corner of the room, wobbly deck, and inexplicable framed poster of a lion hung in the middle of attractive local crafts). The beds were pretty comfortable, and the linens gloriously warm and toasty. My room was frighteningly infested with bees. I have no idea where they came from, but there were a LOT of them. There isn't a great deal to do at the place in the winter. Read and enjoy the views, taking a walk or bike ride is nice, but that's really it. Relaxing, but it seemed a bit lacking overall in services/activities. For a post-safari location, I would recommend/prefer maybe some simple spa services or a more developed cultural program. I realize that the main promoted activity here is bike rides, but honestly, it's at the top of a reasonable grade, and that might not appeal to all guests - in my case, I've got a bit of a bad neck, and after several days of jostling in safari vehicles I didn't think it wise to necessarily risk it on a bicycle, so I booked a walk and found myself saddled with a silent youngster who accompanied me, offered no commentary, tried to take me by the local school (while classes were in session - I didn't think this really appropriate), and kept noting the length of my walk - "it is now 60 minutes" "now you are walking 90 minutes" etc. He wasn't unpleasant or anything, I just didn't really get why he was there.

The food was just unremittingly ... not good. Not bad, exactly, but definitely not good. Sort of overcooked meat and mashed potatoes with buttered vegetables. I think this place might do better by serving flavorful local cooking rather than offering a bland and not terribly well prepared version of international food. It just didn't really work, especially since they offered no choice of menu at lunch and dinner.

There was a weird element of the service in that there seemed to be an awful lot of people standing around in the bar or the restaurant, and coming by to fuss with the room or do something in the grass, but service seemed sort of vague and disconnected. And I sort of felt as though a lot of the staff were inclined to look at me earnestly while I was eating or walking from one place to another. It freaked me out. I realize that they may have been a bit disoriented by a woman traveling solo, which is not altogether common I guess, but I couldn't help feeling as though they didn't quite know what to make of me, with the result that I didn't really know what to make of them, either.

Overall, it was an attractive enough place for a post-safari rest break booked at the last minute, but I wouldn't recommend that ATR continue to use this facility except possibly as a last option for late bookers (like me!) during high season. Doesn't seem to be especially good value for anything more than a 1 night transit stay.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 4 of 26
Reviewersally hewetson
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromUK
Visit date2 Aug 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date17 Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Great views, good pool which the children really enjoyed. Food good and the staff very friendly. The lodge lacked the charm of some of the other places we stayed at at but still very good.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 5 of 26
Reviewerjeff gertler
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date8 Jul 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date31 Jul 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
beautifully, spatially and elegantly designed. Great staff. beautiful pool and setting. great dining room
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 6 of 26
Reviewerlisa dibb
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia/New Zealand
Visit date29 Jun 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date15 Jul 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Lovely
Very comfortable!
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 7 of 26
Reviewermichelle nashaty
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia/New Zealand
Visit date27 Jun 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date16 Jul 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Beautiful place to stay
The only disappointment is that we arrived late and couldn't enjoy the beautiful pool and spectacular view as we only stayed one night. Staff met us on arrival with cold towels and drinks. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The dining was lovely with excellent food and service. I really can't fault the place. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 8 of 26
Reviewerpeter florence
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromUK
Visit date12 Mar 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date26 Apr 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Very comfortable lodge with great views...
A very clean and comofrtable lodge with each room having great views ... large rooms with nice bathroom and balcony... the main reception/ restuarant areas are very relaxing and comortable. The food was good too... and a pool... Great place to stay to relax for a day before or after trip to Ngorongoro crater and Serengeti
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 9 of 26
Reviewerliz atkinson
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromAustralia/New Zealand
Visit date4 Jan 2014
Visit duration1 night
Review Date28 Jan 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Bayshay
As we drove up the drive of Bayshay we were met royally by about 6 staff and an ever enjoyable cold towel and ice tea. As we were 2 adult and 2 children our accommodation was a cottage with two large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and living room with a divine deck overlooking the plains below. Perfect. Bayshay, sits in green lawns perched on a ridge overlooking plains and offers an entrancing environment. The pool was also very well received. - pity we didn't have a champagne in hand. Dining staff a little stiff but efficient and service formal. Would recommend.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 10 of 26
Reviewersuzette stitely
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromNorth America
Visit date1 Oct 2013
Visit duration1 night
Review Date28 Oct 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Beautiful surprise
We stayed one night between Taranguire and Ngorongoro Crater. It is a beautiful property. We were the only guests that night, which made it a bit weird. We arrived early afternoon and it was great to relax. The pool is really nice - we enjoyed lounging beside it. I'm an avid birder and there were plenty of birds to keep me busy. There were large spiders in the dining room and a scorpion in our room, so be on the look-out. Not unexpected for the area though.
Other reviews by this traveller
1 of 3
Add review