Reviews for Kasaka River Lodge
ATR Feedback Index
5 63
4 31
3 2
2 2
1 1
The ATR Feedback Index combines all available feedback sources to provide a useful snapshot view.

Please note that this index is only suitable for use by ATR guests since the results are factored for relevance. For example, a city business hotel may service its clientele very well, but its rating here may be factored down since it is not the kind of place our guests usually want to include in their safaris.


Tripadvisor Reviews
Tripadvisor is a leading worldwide travel review site and a useful source of feedback in Africa, especially for lodges that we include less frequently in trips and therefore have fewer reviews on this site. View their reviews for Kasaka River Lodge


ATR Reviews
5 1
4 3
3 0
2 0
1 0
The ATR reviews below have been posted on this site, largely by guests who have travelled with us, and therefore tend to be the most relevant to our future guests ...

Click on graph to filter reviews by rating.
Add review
Review 1 of 4
Reviewergabi junghanns
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromEurope
Visit date28 Sep 2014
Visit duration4 nights
Review Date28 Sep 2014
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Kasaka River Lodge
At Kasaka, the specialty was an elephant family that enjoyed themselves right in front of our tent (see picture). We enjoyed very much the boat cruises on the Zambezi and the wonderful view on the river to the mountains and the Zimbabwian border. The bizarre sand forms at the shore and the amazing stretches of the river and the land were quite unexpected. Also we were supprised by the variety of the vegetation and the different land scapes here. Of course, we also saw lions, leopards and lots of elephants here. It was especially kind of Mwaka to give Gabi a lift to Chongwe River camp where it was easier for her to get on the boat. Mwaka and Dotty were so hearty and attentive.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 2 of 4
Reviewergabriele agostini
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromEurope
Visit date20 Jun 2013
Visit duration4 nights
Review Date29 Jun 2013
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Compliments to Jane, Bruce and all staff because they all struggle every moment for making you stay unique.
Other reviews by this traveller
Review 3 of 4
Revieweremma l
 
Reviewer typeguest
FromUK
Visit date24 Aug 2010
Visit duration3 nights
Review Date24 Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
We had a wonderful stay here at Kasaka and would like to say a particular thank you to the staff and managers Mike, Lynda and Yvone for making our stay special. (Also thank you to Toby for being such a fantastic guide on the river)

The outstanding thing about Kasaka is the variety of activities on offer. Whilst we were staying here we did 2 river safaris (one sunrise and one sunset, both spectacular), a walking safari, a game drive, a fishing trip and a canoe safari all included in the room rate.

We were also lucky enough to do all these safaris (apart from the walking safari) just the two of us which made it all the more special. We were also given the 'honeymoon suite' which had the most amazing terrace overlooking the river.

Lynda and Yvone also organised a surprise dinner on our terrace for just the 2 of us and also when we returned from our canoe safari a warm candlelit bath had been prepared for us on the terrace which was just fantastic.

This camp has a very independent feel and when we stayed, we were yet to feel the full influence of the Chongwe merger as it had just happened and so we felt that we had a very unique experience. We felt like we got to know Mike, Lynda and Yvone really well and had more of an understanding into how camps actually work without the absence of 'company policies'...etc... They are so passionate about what they do here, it was completely infectious.

Only a few downsides to our stay here the food was not quite as good as we had in the other camps.

Also - I understand that this is a 'mid-range' camp but we seemed to pay a similar rate as we did at other camps (Toka Leya and Nkwali) and so we have compared like for like with those camps. Had we paid more of a 'mid-range' price, we would have given Kasaka outstanding for everything but we felt that both Toka Leya and Nkwali offered some more luxury details that you would expect from a top range camp but at a similar price.

One last thing is that on departure we were asked to contribute to the conservation scheme with a guideline of $10 per person per night stayed. This does not sound like a lot, but with all the tips that we had paid and with the absence of a visa machine at this camp, this would have completely cleaned us out of all our cash and we were left feeling like it was a bit cheeky. I understand that this conservation levy is going to be included in room rates going forward which I think is far more sensible.

All in all, we had a great time at this camp!

Other reviews by this traveller
Review 4 of 4
Reviewertonyf
 
Reviewer typeatr staff
FromFranschhoek, South Africa
Visit date28 May 2009
Visit duration0 nights
Review Date16 Jun 2009
Overall rating
 
Location
Activities
Lodge Design
Staff
Food
Cleanliness
Value
Kasaka Lodge : recce : MAY09
We just popped in at Kasaka whilst staying just downstream at Chongwe River Camp, but a quick once around backed up what we already know about the place, which is to say that it is a perfectly decent, friendly and well run operation, not as stylish as some of its neighbours, but not so pricey either. The images here are therefore very similar to those previously published, but are included here for those of you who like to be dilligent in your pre-trip research!
Other reviews by this traveller
Add review